Taming the Story of Tamar

Speaker:
Date: Wednesday 14 Nov 2018

 

Rupert Ward

The story of Tamar in Genesis is such an odd one to our western ears. It doesn’t seem to fit in the Joseph narrative, and the story itself is so alien to our world. In this sermon Rupert unpacks the cultural context of this story, and comes to a surprising conclusion about what this story means for us today.
Scriptures: Genesis 38

Listen to the audio file

Recent talks

Introduction to our ‘Visible women’ series

Date: Sunday 26 Jun 2022

Navigate Together

Speaker:
Date: Sunday 19 Jun 2022

From a Place of Rest

Speaker:
Date: Sunday 12 Jun 2022

Sermon Series Conversation

Date: Sunday 5 Jun 2022

Repenting Together

Speaker:
Date: Sunday 29 May 2022

Slowing Down

Date: Sunday 22 May 2022

Engaging with Scripture

Speaker:
Date: Sunday 15 May 2022

Contagious Stories

Speaker:
Date: Sunday 8 May 2022

Kissing the Face of God

Date: Sunday 1 May 2022

Learning to Walk Again

Speaker:
Date: Sunday 24 Apr 2022